ABOUT US

Tuesday, January 3, 2012

Google+: How to control who can send you notifications



Google+ is a great service and if by any chance you are famous and get mentioned a lot. This is one service you might want to consider using. It is helpful because if you get mentioned a lot you really might not want to know it every-time. On the other hand you might want to know when someone mentions you especially if that someone is close to you and a part of your close circles. 


Once you set your preferences and decide who can send you notifications. Then these are the type of '+' or '@' mentions you will be notified about. 


A post is shared specifically with you or the sharer chooses to notify recipients.
You're mentioned in a post or comment.
Someone invites you to a game or shares something with you in a game.
You're invited to a hangout.
You've been tagged in a photo. (Source: Google+)


How to choose who is allowed to send you notifications on Google+
1. Login to your Google+ account
2. Go to your stream by clicking on the home icon. Yes, it looks exactly like a small home
3. Click on the Cog icon. Found on the extreme top right-hand corner.
4. From the drop-down click on Google+ settings
5. Beside 'Who can send you notifications' click on the drop down menu.
You can now choose between your circles, extended circles, only you, anyone or custom. Choose according to your preferences.
6. You're done




An original post by

Sociolatte



No comments:

Post a Comment