Skip to main content

Difference between friend and subscribe on Facebook



What is the difference between friend and subscribe on Facebook. If you want to add a subscribe button to your Facebook profile please check our guide available here. So people must first opt-in to sport the subscribe button on their profile. Now there are key differences between adding someone as a friend and subscribing to someone. Facebook has a policy of only adding people you know as a friend. If you do not know that person then it is best to subscribe to follow what they might publicly post on Facebook. This works best for people who have a huge following like celebrities and famous personalities. Facebook also restricts the number of friends you can have to 5000. Anyway the difference between adding as friend and subscribing is this:


1. When you subscribe
You can only see posts that the person shares publicly. You do not have access to other information of that person. you cannot see their friends and photos and videos that they don't share publicly on Facebook. You can however choose to reply with a comment to their posts and also use the like button. Unless of course if they have chosen to make their photos and videos public.


2. When you add as friend
You have full access to this person's Timeline. You can view their photos and videos and their friends list and everything else. This is for people who are your friends. If there are photos and videos that you cannot view it is because they have chosen to share this with only a select group of people.


Please leave a comment below to continue this discussion.  





An original post by

Sociolatte



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

How to Make Money on Facebook in 2026

  How to Make Money on Facebook in 2026 Facebook paid creators nearly $3 billion in 2025. That number went up 35% from the year before. If you've been ignoring Facebook as a place to earn money, it's time to take another look. In 2026, Facebook has more ways to pay creators than ever before — from guaranteed monthly payments for established creators to ad revenue, live tips, subscriptions, and brand deals. This guide covers every method, who qualifies, and exactly how to get started. Method 1: Creator Fast Track — Guaranteed Monthly Pay This is the biggest news in Facebook monetization right now. In March 2026, Facebook launched Creator Fast Track — a program that pays established creators guaranteed monthly income just for posting Reels on Facebook. How much does it pay? $1,000 per month if you have at least 100,000 followers on Instagram, TikTok, or YouTube $3,000 per month if you have more than 1 million followers on any of those platforms Payments are guarant...

How to delete past posts on Facebook

With the new Facebook Timeline comes added features such as your friends ability to see all your past activity, the stuff you might have hidden for so long. Another problem with the new Facebook Timeline is that if you have previous chosen to hide all 'Like' activities. That has been removed and all you 'Like' activity on Facebook shows up on your Timeline. This is a boon for websites like ours. Since the more likes we get the more popular we are going to become. Anyways back to the topic. Now if you have something you can see on your Timeline that you do not want to be  seeing there. You can get rid of it immediately and not have to worry about it again.  How to hide or remove any post from your timeline - maybe an embarrassing photo, video or status update 1. Login to Facebook 2. Click on your name which should bring-up your Facebook Timeline.  3. Hover over the right-hand corner of any post, update, image, video and you should ge...

How to Delete notifications on Facebook

There are three methods to hide, stop or delete notifications on Facebook . You know how annoying it is when notifications keep coming. So here goes. There are many reasons' why Facebook notifications can be quite a pain. This is especially true if you're a gamer and you keep getting game notifications. Also notifications from apps can be quite constant and also make a sound. If you want to turn-off notification sounds - please follow our post here . A 1. On your News Feed choose the notification you want to hide and point the mouse to the right corner. 2. The word 'Hide' appears. Click on it 3. You are asked if you would like to hide your friend or hide to App. 4. Click on hide the App. (Would mostly be Farmville or petville) B 1. On the top right hand corner click on 'Account' 2. Click on 'Account Settings' 3. Click on 'Notifications' 3. On the right you will see a long list of Applications that sends you notifications to turn off the notificat...