Skip to main content

What happens when I follow someone on Twitter



Have you ever wondered what actually happens when you follow someone on Twitter. How are you benefited and could you also do without it. Since everything on Twitter is public and therefore accessible whenever you want. What are the benefits of following someone on Twitter and does it come with any privileges and advantages?. Apart from inflating the ego of the person you have followed. Trending topics on Twitter are sometimes much more fun than following a bunch of people.


Purpose of following someone on Twitter
1. You want to get all their public Tweets as soon as it happens.
2. You can keep a track of all that person has to say on Twitter.
3. You're a fan and like to know more about what that person has to say.
4. You cannot DM (Direct Message) them unless they follow you back
5. You can Retweet their tweets however.
If you're wondering how to send a tweet to a celebrity we have another post for that which can be found here. 


What happens when you follow someone on Twitter
1. You get all their Tweets in your Twitter feed
2. You can keep a track of them and Retweet their tweets
3. You cannnot send then a DM but they will be able to send you a Direct Message.


So if you are really not a fan but want to check out a person's updates once in a while you don't need to follow them. Just check their profiles once in a while. Please leave a comment below to continue this discussion. 





An original post by

Sociolatte



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

How to Make Money on Facebook in 2026

  How to Make Money on Facebook in 2026 Facebook paid creators nearly $3 billion in 2025. That number went up 35% from the year before. If you've been ignoring Facebook as a place to earn money, it's time to take another look. In 2026, Facebook has more ways to pay creators than ever before — from guaranteed monthly payments for established creators to ad revenue, live tips, subscriptions, and brand deals. This guide covers every method, who qualifies, and exactly how to get started. Method 1: Creator Fast Track — Guaranteed Monthly Pay This is the biggest news in Facebook monetization right now. In March 2026, Facebook launched Creator Fast Track — a program that pays established creators guaranteed monthly income just for posting Reels on Facebook. How much does it pay? $1,000 per month if you have at least 100,000 followers on Instagram, TikTok, or YouTube $3,000 per month if you have more than 1 million followers on any of those platforms Payments are guarant...

How to delete past posts on Facebook

With the new Facebook Timeline comes added features such as your friends ability to see all your past activity, the stuff you might have hidden for so long. Another problem with the new Facebook Timeline is that if you have previous chosen to hide all 'Like' activities. That has been removed and all you 'Like' activity on Facebook shows up on your Timeline. This is a boon for websites like ours. Since the more likes we get the more popular we are going to become. Anyways back to the topic. Now if you have something you can see on your Timeline that you do not want to be  seeing there. You can get rid of it immediately and not have to worry about it again.  How to hide or remove any post from your timeline - maybe an embarrassing photo, video or status update 1. Login to Facebook 2. Click on your name which should bring-up your Facebook Timeline.  3. Hover over the right-hand corner of any post, update, image, video and you should ge...

How to Delete notifications on Facebook

There are three methods to hide, stop or delete notifications on Facebook . You know how annoying it is when notifications keep coming. So here goes. There are many reasons' why Facebook notifications can be quite a pain. This is especially true if you're a gamer and you keep getting game notifications. Also notifications from apps can be quite constant and also make a sound. If you want to turn-off notification sounds - please follow our post here . A 1. On your News Feed choose the notification you want to hide and point the mouse to the right corner. 2. The word 'Hide' appears. Click on it 3. You are asked if you would like to hide your friend or hide to App. 4. Click on hide the App. (Would mostly be Farmville or petville) B 1. On the top right hand corner click on 'Account' 2. Click on 'Account Settings' 3. Click on 'Notifications' 3. On the right you will see a long list of Applications that sends you notifications to turn off the notificat...